Category Archives: Series Spotlight

*New* Series Spotlight {1}

I’m going to start a new post, I’m not sure yet just how often I’ll post it, but I want to spotlight either series that are already released (both still in progress and those that are already completed) as well as new, upcoming series that I’m really excited for.
The Arcana Chronicles

Poison Princess

The Arcana Chronicles #1
By Kresley Cole
Publication Date: October 4th 2012 by Simon & Schuster for Young Readers
Author Website | Series Website
Add To Goodreads

What the Back of the Book Says
She could save the world—or destroy it.
Sixteen year old Evangeline “Evie” Greene leads a charmed life, until she begins experiencing horrifying hallucinations. When an apocalyptic event decimates her Louisiana hometown, Evie realizes her hallucinations were actually visions of the future—and they’re still happening. Fighting for her life and desperate for answers, she must turn to her wrong-side-of-the-bayou classmate: Jack Deveaux.
But she can’t do either alone.
With his mile-long rap sheet, wicked grin, and bad attitude, Jack is like no boy Evie has ever known. Even though he once scorned her and everything she represented, he agrees to protect Evie on her quest. She knows she can’t totally depend on Jack. If he ever cast that wicked grin her way, could she possibly resist him?
Who can Evie trust?
As Jack and Evie race to find the source of her visions, they meet others who have gotten the same call. An ancient prophesy is being played out, and Evie is not the only one with special powers. A group of twenty-two teens has been chosen to reenact the ultimate battle between good and evil. But it’s not always clear who is on which side….

My Thoughts
I know Kresley Cole is huge in the adult paranormal romance fiction world, but I haven’t actually read any of her books *hangs head in shame*. The first thing that sucked me into this book, was the cover. Even though the male model kind of looks too old to be on a YA book cover, overall I think it’s beautiful. And then the second thing I noticed, was that it is called The Arcana Chronicles. I, being a lover of tarot cards, picked up on this right away. For those that aren’t familiar with tarot cards, the 72-card deck is split into two parts, the minor arcana – which include all of the numbered cards, from 2-10, as well as Kings, Queens, Pages, and Knights in the four suits; Cups, Wands, Swords, and Pentacles. The major arcana are all of the cards in the deck that will symbolically represent anything “major” in your life, almost like milestones, where the minor cards deal mainly with the day-to-day goings on. They are generally numbered 0 (The Fool) to 21 (The World).

The Arcana Chronicles is based on the Major Arcana, with each of the cards being a real character. (Watch Kresley Cole talk about her inspiration here!) She mentions The Moon being a huntress with glowing red skin! Um, what?! That is SO COOL! The interesting thing is that I’ve often toyed with the idea of writing a story about the cards of the major arcana because they would easily be able to be brought to life. I am SO stoked to see how Cole interprets each of the cards and the characters she creates from them!

So what do you think about this series? Do you think you’ll read it; why/why not?

Happy Reading,