REVIEW | A Court of Thorns and Roses

16096824Book #1 | A Court of Thorns and Roses

Author: Sarah J Maas

Publication Information:

Hardcover, 416 pages
Published May 5th 2015 by Bloomsbury Children’s

Rating: 4 Stars – I Really Liked It!

ADD TO GOODREADS

 A thrilling, seductive new series from New York Times bestselling author Sarah J. Maas, blending Beauty and the Beast with faerie lore.

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it… or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!

My Thoughts: I have to first say that reading this one immediately after binge reading the entire Throne of Glass series is not the best idea. That being said, if you have read ToG you also have to throw out any notions that this is anything like the faeries and fae worlds in ToG, because it isn’t – it’s nothing like it.

What we do have here, is the same wonderful writing that I fell in love with in ToG, and a main character who doesn’t give herself nearly enough credit. She isn’t as bad ass as Celaena, but she can hold her own. We have a sexy, beastly love interest, and vile vindictive deadly faeries that wouldn’t blink an eye at killing a human – even if she “belongs” to the Spring Court High Lord.

We begin the book with Feyre out hunting for food for her family – father, and two sisters – and she gets both a deer and a wolf. Being told in the first person point of view, we find out that she is curious if the wolf – which is abnormally gargantuan – could be a fairy, but after skinning it, she decides there is no way, it was a regular wolf.

For extra money, since her family is incredibly poor after her once-wealthy father lost his fortune, she sells the wolf’s skin to a mercenary, and goes home – reveling in how awful her life is, and how she is bound to care for her family that do not even like nor appreciate her thanks to a promise she made to her mother upon her deathbed. What she doesn’t expect, is to go home thinking it a normal day in her life, only to have a beastly faerie burst in her door and steal her away upon some terms of the Treaty between the mortals and the fae, since it turns out that wolf was in fact fae.

There may be spoilers from here on out – if you haven’t read this book yet, I’d recommend waiting to read the rest of my review until you’ve read it.

I was immediately annoyed with how the story progressed once Feyre was in Prythian. I didn’t like her and Tamlin’s interactions – especially when you already know they’re going to end up together. She hates anything and everything to do with the fae, yet she finds herself softening up towards both Tamlin and Lucien. Even after being initially repulsed, we are soon reading about her ever-growing affection for Tamlin.

There are many points in the story where you don’t really take things to be big, when they seem little, but there are times I read over parts and then at the end would find myself going, “oh yeah, I remember!” but it was quite annoying at how secretive everyone was with Feyre, until finding out that it was the curse put on Tamlin by Amarantha that kept them from saying anything to her about it.

I did not like how the curse had so many little bits to it – and yet Feyre fit and matched each and every one of them. A little too coincidental to me.

One thing that I found to be difficult with Sarah’s writing, is that it was overly descriptive to the point that I had trouble forming my own ideas and images in my mind because she was telling way too much that it was confusing and muddled. I also felt that there was an overuse of certain similes – like bowels turning watery. Yuck.

Another thing I disliked, was the riddle Amarantha told Feyre to guess for immediate freedom. Feyre is way too smart to have not figured that out! I figured it out ASAP – so there is no way she couldn’t.

The ending also was much to Twilight-y for my taste BUT I’m sure it is integral to the continuation of the story – including what will happen with Rhysand, which I’m extremely curious about!

Happy Reading!

Laura

Advertisements
Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: