Monthly Archives: November 2015

REVIEW | A Court of Thorns and Roses

16096824Book #1 | A Court of Thorns and Roses

Author: Sarah J Maas

Publication Information:

Hardcover, 416 pages
Published May 5th 2015 by Bloomsbury Children’s

Rating: 4 Stars – I Really Liked It!

ADD TO GOODREADS

 A thrilling, seductive new series from New York Times bestselling author Sarah J. Maas, blending Beauty and the Beast with faerie lore.

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it… or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!

My Thoughts: I have to first say that reading this one immediately after binge reading the entire Throne of Glass series is not the best idea. That being said, if you have read ToG you also have to throw out any notions that this is anything like the faeries and fae worlds in ToG, because it isn’t – it’s nothing like it.

What we do have here, is the same wonderful writing that I fell in love with in ToG, and a main character who doesn’t give herself nearly enough credit. She isn’t as bad ass as Celaena, but she can hold her own. We have a sexy, beastly love interest, and vile vindictive deadly faeries that wouldn’t blink an eye at killing a human – even if she “belongs” to the Spring Court High Lord.

We begin the book with Feyre out hunting for food for her family – father, and two sisters – and she gets both a deer and a wolf. Being told in the first person point of view, we find out that she is curious if the wolf – which is abnormally gargantuan – could be a fairy, but after skinning it, she decides there is no way, it was a regular wolf.

For extra money, since her family is incredibly poor after her once-wealthy father lost his fortune, she sells the wolf’s skin to a mercenary, and goes home – reveling in how awful her life is, and how she is bound to care for her family that do not even like nor appreciate her thanks to a promise she made to her mother upon her deathbed. What she doesn’t expect, is to go home thinking it a normal day in her life, only to have a beastly faerie burst in her door and steal her away upon some terms of the Treaty between the mortals and the fae, since it turns out that wolf was in fact fae.

There may be spoilers from here on out – if you haven’t read this book yet, I’d recommend waiting to read the rest of my review until you’ve read it.

Continue reading

Tagged ,

FRIDAY FREEBIE

Happy Friday, my beautiful book lovers!

Today I am sharing with you a Friday Freebie… so if you’re in the market for a new book to binge read this weekend, well I’ve got one for you to check out!

27392137UNCHAINED MELODY

BY: Sable Hunter

WHAT IT’S ABOUT: Sparks fly when Annalise walks thru the door of Ethan Stewart’s Bed & Breakfast, turning his life upside down … again. Six years ago she had simply vanished into thin air after eight short days of earth-shattering passion. Ethan had searched desperately for her, but never found Lise. After being apart for so long can they simply pick up where they left off?

Annalise Ramsey has come to face with the man of her dreams. She has never forgotten what it felt like to be loved by him. Tragedy tore her away from him years before, and now she fears the shadows of that secret will keep them apart forever.

Can Lise overcome the fear of rejection that keeps their love in the dark?

BUY LINKS: AMAZON

Have a great reading filled weekend!

Laura

 

Tagged

NANOWRIMO 2015 | WEEK TWO WRAPUP

So I can say with complete confidence that I am finally on track with my WIP (work in progress) however, unless I can somehow pump out thousands of words a day …  I won’t be winning NaNoWriMo this year.

And you know what? That’s OK. It is, really. I don’t mind not winning because I know that I will still succeed. I have such a love for this story I’ve got in my head, and the character’s that I’m writing about, that I know I will finish it. I have the faith, the motivation and drive to write it through to the end. It just very well may take me until next NaNoWriMo to fully be ready to edit it, revise, and possibly have some beta-readers.

Gosh, just thinking about it gives me goosebumps! I’ve also come up with some great ideas for a Beauty and the Beast retelling – so I’m excited to start brainstorming and outlining some ideas for that.

But, let me tell you a little bit about my main character for this WIP, which was previously started under the working title, My Favorite Mistake. It is a New Adult Contemporary Romance.

The main character is Samantha O’Reilly. She is 18 and the youngest daughter of a defense attorney. Her mother is a real estate agent, and she has one older sister, Lindsay, who is 24 and married to Ryan Finnegan, a 34 year old attorney at her father’s law firm. Her father represents big time clients, and their family is very wealthy and live in Cedar Hill, Connecticut.

She has just graduated from high school, and was planning on moving to Florida to go to college with her high school sweetheart, Landon Gray. But she realizes that her life isn’t planned out by her and what she wants. Her father and Landon have basically made all of her decisions for her, and she’s had enough.

Going against everything her father and Landon have planned, Samantha applies to Covington College in New York, and decides to pursue her dream of writing and illustrating children’s books once she is accepted. Unhappy with her decision, Landon says their relationship is “on hold” so that she can figure out what she really needs to do – Which is what HE says – and her father decides to let her go, renting her a two-bedroom apartment since her best friend, Morgan Varese, is going to be attending another college near Covington. Her father has given her a semester to figure things out, and once the semester is up, she needs to either follow her original plans, or support herself.

At Covington, Samantha is realizing that she has lost herself, and is slowly finding pieces of who she dreamed of being when she was a kid. She loves art and drawing, but never pursued classes because it wasn’t acceptable to her father. She met Emily Green in her drawing class, and they’ve become very close friends. One night, the week before Christmas, Samantha comes home early, since class was cancelled, and finds Landon there – but she finds him and Morgan together on the couch of the apartment her father rented for her, hooking up. She kicks them both out and takes Emily up on her offer to her band play at a bar near campus.

Samantha drinks too much, and finds Emily’s twin brother, Evan, much too attractive – and when she wakes up the next morning fully hungover for the first time and ends up walking out into her kitchen in nothing but her bra and panties – forgetting Evan and Emily were there – she realizes how mortified she is – and how attracted to Evan she is.

But love is never easy – and it won’t be for Samantha and Evan.

If you enjoyed this sneak peek – come back next week when I give you Week 3 updates… I am so interested in seeing where Samantha, Emily, and Evan go. I love Samantha’s attitude, and how she won’t live her life for anyone else but herself. She is strong, smart, and sassy and I can’t help but admire her.

Tagged

NaNoWriMo 2015 | Week One WrapUp

Every year I commit myself to participating in NaNoWriMo (If you don’t know what that is… go here to find out!) and every year I fail miserably at it. I get side tracked, or I spend all of October preparing that when November comes, I’m burned out and don’t feel like writing. Or I just make up a ton of excuses as to why I don’t have time to write. Or I just don’t have the inspiration to. Right now, I’m in a writing slump. I gave myself a “You can do this!” Pep talk last night, and so I think I can sit down today once I get my daughter down for her nap — and pump out some wordage. At least, I hope to.

Three years ago I started an account on Figment. I loved that it gave me the ability to share my writing with others, and that other fellow writers could read my stories and we could all help each other reach our goals. BUT, that dream quickly faded. No one was really interested in reading my stuff – they just wanted “likes for likes”. So the story I was working on got forgotten about.

Until now.

I read back through what I had written — and REALLY liked it! I just recently started getting into New Adult, and it turns out that the story I started way back when, is new adult. And I really think it has potential!

So I spent September and October outlining and brainstorming and thinking, I’ve got this! But guys – I haven’t written one word of it in November. Not one! So here’s my Week One WrapUp word count: 0. A big fat goose egg.Zip. Zilch. Nada.

Today is make it or break it day. If I can sit down and write, I will feel the motivation to continue. If I can’t write anything today, I will bow out gracefully and just write at my own pace, time, etc.

I hope everyone else is doing better at NaNoWriMo than I am.

Tagged